Monday mornings often get a bad rap. Even for those who love their jobs, it can be tough to transition back into “work mode” after a weekend filled with fun and frivolity.

Dean Brent Chrite

But Daniels faculty and staff may have found a remedy for the Monday blues. Instead of huddling around the communal coffee pot exchanging tales of the weekend, Daniels employees gathered at 8 a.m. on Monday, April 23, to celebrate one another at the annual Honors Convocation in the Joy Burns Tuscan Ballroom.

Following a plated breakfast, Dean Brent Chrite kicked off the celebration by applauding Daniels faculty and staff for their contributions of talent and time over the past year.

“I’m excited about what we’ve accomplished and I thank you for all the tremendous effort,” he said. “It’s fitting to celebrate and affirm the work of this community today.”

Following his remarks, Senior Associate Dean Paul Olk presented awards to the following faculty members:

  • Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award: Annette Fertig, adjunct professor, School of Accountancy
  • Scholarship of Discipline Award: Karen Xie, assistant professor, Fritz Knoebel School of Hospitality Management
  • Thomas Howard Award: Bruce Klaw, assistant professor, Department of Business Ethics and Legal Studies

Director of PR and Communications Kristal Griffith was presented with the Alexander J. Lindsay Award

Next, Chrite announced the recipients of the all-college awards by presenting Director of PR and Communications Kristal Griffith and Manager of External Relations Amy Jacobson with this year’s Alexander J. Lindsay Award for outstanding customer service.

McKenzie Mohler, manager of undergraduate academic advising, and Kathleen “KED” Davisson, teaching associate professor and assistant director of the School of Accountancy, each took home the Daniels Awards for Excellence.

The Daniels Spotlight Award, which was introduced this year to recognize a “behind-the-scenes hero,” was presented to Enrollment Technology Manager Joanie Berrier.

Joanie Berrier was presented with the Daniels Spotlight Award

Last (but certainly not least), three retiring faculty members were recognized for collectively contributing over 80 years of service and scholarship to Daniels:

  • Ronald Thompkins, teaching assistant professor, School of Accountancy
  • Hugh Grove, professor, School of Accountancy
  • Thomas Cook, professor, Reiman School of Finance

Chrite concluded the day’s festivities by emphasizing his gratitude and appreciation for the work that Daniels faculty and staff have put forth over the past year.

“These kinds of events are a wonderful reminder of the power of this community and what makes this place so special,” he said.