Please visit DU’s COVID-19 website and subscribe to @uofdenver Twitter for updates regarding COVID-19.

Daniels faculty and staff gather to celebrate and reflect on the 2018-19 academic year

Spring is a time of growth, renewal and in some places (ahem, Denver), 50-degree temperature fluctuations, torrential downpours and the occasional (but no less devastating) hail storm.

But on the morning of Thursday, May 30, the sun broke free from the clouds, birds sang cheerful tunes and the Joy Burns Tuscan Ballroom buzzed with excitement as faculty and staff from the Daniels College of Business gathered to celebrate one another at the annual Awards for Excellence Breakfast.

Paul Olk, senior associate dean for faculty, research and accreditation, kicked off the celebration by acknowledging Daniels faculty and staff for their contributions of talent and time over the past 12 months.

Pointing to a list of College accomplishments from the 2018-19 academic year, Olk said, “When I look at this list, it’s a lot. We’ve been working hard. I just want to say thank you. I think we can all look back on this year as a big year of accomplishments. We can look back on it fondly. And, of course, get ready for next year, which will probably have more coming up.”

Following his remarks, Assistant Dean for Research and Academic Affairs Tricia Olsen announced the nominees and winners of three faculty awards.

“It’s my privilege to work with the faculty of the College and I’m pleased to recognize this year’s award recipients,” Olsen said. “The following awards recognize the scholarly activities of our faculty.”

Award winners:

  • Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award: Bud Bilanich, adjunct faculty, Department of Management
  • Thomas Howard Award: Stephen Haag, director of entrepreneurship programs and professor of the practice, Department of Business Information and Analytics
  • Scholarship of Discipline Award: Don Bergh, Louis D. Beaumont Chair of Business Administration and professor, Department of Management

Associate Dean and COO Yee-Ann Cho announced the recipients of the all-college awards. The Alexander J. Lindsay award is presented to a staff member—or in this case, staff members—who provide outstanding customer service to the Daniels community.

Award winners:

  • Lora Hacker, assistant director of academic programs at the Franklin L. Burns School of Real Estate and Construction Management
  • Karen Hodel, program manager of undergraduate and executive PhD programs

Cho and Olsen then announced the nominees and subsequent winners of the remaining faculty and staff awards.

Toni Gabrielli Phelan, assistant director of undergraduate career services, and Suzette Loving, assistant professor of the practice in the School of Accountancy, won the Daniels Awards for Excellence.

The Daniels Spotlight Award, which was introduced last year to recognize a “behind-the-scenes hero,” was presented to the Manager of Graduate Student Services Devon Sisneros.

Olk returned to the stage to acknowledge faculty transitions and retirements. “At the end of the year, we have the bittersweet task of honoring faculty who are leaving us. This year is no different,” Olk said.

Two retiring faculty members were recognized for nearly 60 years of collective service and scholarship at Daniels:

  • Barb Kreisman, senior advisor to the dean and professor of the practice
  • John Tripp, professor, School of Accountancy

Cho concluded the celebration with words of gratitude. “Congratulations again to all the recipients. And thank you all for your work this year. Have a great remainder of the quarter and a wonderful summer, wherever it may take you.”