Please visit DU’s COVID-19 website and subscribe to @uofdenver Twitter for updates regarding COVID-19.

2017 CFA competition DU winners

From left to right: Ford McCarty, Sam Worley, Hannah Hunter, Van Wombwell, JP Tremblay, Chris Martinez and David Nafus

Five Daniels College of Business students won the 8th Annual Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Institute Research Challenge-Colorado Competition. The winning team members are Hannah Hunter, bachelor’s of business analytics and finance major; Ford McCarty, master’s in business analytics and finance major; Chris Martinez, master’s of finance major; Sam Worley, bachelor’s of finance major; and David Nafus, Denver MBA student.

They competed in the local Colorado and Wyoming Competition against Metropolitan State University of Denver; University of Colorado, Denver; University of Colorado, Boulder; University of Colorado, Colorado Springs; Colorado State University; University of Northern Colorado; and the University of Wyoming.

Each team presented its analysis and a buy/sell/hold recommendation on Arrow Electronics to a panel of distinguished judges. The teams work directly with academic advisors and an industry mentors to research and prepare an equity research report on a publicly traded company. Their findings are locally evaluated by high-profile panels of heads of research, portfolio managers, and chief investment officers from some of the subject company.

Van Wombwell, CFA of Highgate Securities Investments, is the Daniels investment industry mentor.

“It’s supremely rewarding to help the students apply their new skills to present their first rigorous, fact-based analysis in a compelling, confident manner,” Wombwell said.

“This is an invaluable experience for our students, and I’m happy that all their hard work paid off,” said JP Tremblay, CFA, associate teaching professor of finance. “It allows them to pull from all their classroom experience and put it into practice in a competitive environment in front of industry experts.”

The winning team will advance to the Americas Regional Competition, which will take place in Seattle on April 7-8, 2017.

The University of Denver has also won in 2014, 2012 and 2010.