Please visit DU’s COVID-19 website and subscribe to @uofdenver Twitter for updates regarding COVID-19.

Daniels honors faculty and staff at annual celebration

To kick off the 2020–21 academic year, Daniels faculty and staff met virtually on Wednesday, Sept. 16, to reflect on past achievements, welcome new members to the College, celebrate promotions and recognize individuals for years of service to Daniels.

Dean Vivek Choudhury offered his gratitude to Daniels faculty and staff for their flexibility and determination to deliver an outstanding educational experience to students, in spite of the challenges brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“To the faculty,” he said, “I want to thank you for not only pivoting on a dime in the spring term, but preparing for a very complicated schedule in the fall with multiple modalities and technologies and accommodating students that are online and in person.”

“To the staff,” he continued, “I want to thank you for again making sure that even though we had to move to an online mode, we did not miss a beat. The resiliency that you have all shown over the last six months is simply inspirational and I want to thank you for it.”

The honorees:

New Hires
Charles Dhanaraj
Steve Petrie
Joshua Ross
Cristin Tarr 

Leanne Bokinskie
Randi Eskanos
Chris Gallick
Peipei Gong
Jake Jensen
Abbey Krause 
Mike Latimer
Joy Melgarejo
Lynn Rooney
Amanda Thompson
Sam Thornton
Tammie Walker
David Worley 

Faculty Promotions
Michele L. Cunningham, teaching professor, marketing
Andrew Detzel, associate professor with tenure, finance
Sung Soo Kim, associate professor with tenure, management
J.P. Tremblay, teaching professor, finance 

Faculty Years of Service Awards
Five years
Tianjie Deng
Andrew Detzel
Kelsey Dworkis 
Ryan Elmore 
Tom Hall
Kenneth Leung
Andrew Schnackenberg

10 years
Sharon Lassar 

15 years
Chris Hughen

20 years
David Paul

25 years
Carol Johnson

45 years
Mark Levine
Ron Rizzuto

Staff Years of Service Awards
Five years
Joanie Berrier
Tim Downs
John Haddock
Nikol Harder
Amy Jacobson
Jaleesa McIntosh
Ashley Mercer
Pat Perrella

“Thanks to all of you for your dedication and support of our vision to pioneer business for the public good,” Choudhury concluded. “I am proud to be part of this team.”