Please visit DU’s COVID-19 website and subscribe to @uofdenver Twitter for updates regarding COVID-19.

For the 14th consecutive year, MKG Group has hosted the Worldwide Hospitality Awards. The international competition showcases hotel groups, brands and independent industry initiatives.

From more than a hundred projects in 14 categories, only 38 finalists and honorees remained after the deliberation of two expert juries of hoteliers and non-hoteliers, in addition to an online vote at The ceremony’s participants contributed to the choice of winners in four categories (Best Communication Operation, Best Marketing Campaign, Best Innovation in the Room and Best Innovation in the Public Spaces), via a live electronic vote.

At the ceremony Puneet Chhatwal, CEO of Steigenberger Group and Georges Panayotis, CEO of MKG Group, presented the 2013 Lifetime Achievement award to Stewart Bainum’s representative, his daughter Barbara Bainum.

B&B Hotels was awarded the 2013 Grand Prix. Georges Sampeur, Chairman at B&B Hotels, received the trophy from Georges Panayotis, President of MKG Group, and Sylvia Pinel, Minister of Craftsmanship, Commerce & Tourism.

The professionals honored future professionals, including Daniels, through the 4th edition of Hospitality Schools Awards:

  • Daniels College of Business – University of Denver, for the Best Educational Innovation
  • L’Ecole Hôtelière de Lausanne, for the Best Hotel Management School
  • Frédéric Schaub, E-commerce manager at Marriott France – Glion, for the Best Professional Success