Burns students challenged in Associated Schools of Construction Student Competition

February 27, 2017

Burns ASC competition 2017 2Undergraduate students from the Franklin L. Burns School of Real Estate and Construction Management at the University of Denver’s Daniels College of Business participated for the first time ever in the 2017 Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Region 6 & 7 Student Competition in Reno, Nevada Feb. 8-11. ASC is the professional association for the development and advancement of construction education, where the sharing of ideas and knowledge inspires, guides and promotes excellence in curricula, teaching, research and service. 

The student teams worked on a mixed use three story apartment/retail building and a design-build aquarium project for 16 hours Feb. 9, turning in a request for proposal (RFP) packet for both projects art the end of the day. The following day, they made a presentation to the “owners.”

“ASC challenges your academic and emotional capacity. It was not so much determining how much each of us knew, but how hard we were willing to work for our team’s mutual success,” says Kassandra Tyson, Burns School mixed use team member. “I felt extreme satisfaction in holding a booklet that we made in half a day that the sponsoring companies work on for months. It is a challenging and self-revealing competition that I would do again in a heartbeat.”

“We are pleased that our students did so well in this extremely competitive competition,” says Eric Holt, assistant professor of real estate and construction management at Daniels. “The students learn so much from this real-world experience for the commercial construction industry.”

The students who participated are:Burns ASC competition 2017

Mixed Use Team: Todd Brock, Kassandra Tyson, Owin Orr, Lee Kopecky, Justin Wilhelm and David Karimi

Design Build Team: John Garretson, Tucker Van, Marlee Gartner, Ryan Gilbane, Ryan Massey and Omar Soltero

Integrated Project Team:  Paulo Homem de Mello, Tim Biere, Lauren DeBell, Thomas Tafur, Michael Bilger and Eric Rymarz

DU would like to thank our corporate sponsors, Cody Brock, GH Phipps and Holland Partner Group, for their generous support of the teams. It was the 30th years of the ASC Student Competition.